Eberhofer sequence: This is how you watch the films correctly

Deepak Gupta
Deepak Gupta January 23, 2022
Updated 2022/01/23 at 9:13 AM

Rita Falk’s novels about the stubborn inspector Franz Eberhofer are becoming increasingly popular. Our Eberhofer order tells you how to follow cases from Niederkaltenkirch chronologically.

Eberhofer order by release date

The film adaptation of crime novels is a complex craft. Instead of a case to be solved, we learn more about the detective and his or her life. This is sometimes more exciting than the actual criminal case, because the life of the protagonists is told alongside the criminal cases and changes from episode to episode. The Eberhofer order gives you a feeling for the development of Franz Eberhofer.

Rita Falk’s novels span their universe around the Bavarian provinces and the inspector from Niederkaltenkrich, Franz Eberhofer, who lives there. He has been transferred to the Bavarian provinces as a punitive measure and so his own feelings, fears and longings also play an important role in Rita Falk’s crime comedies. In the film adaptations of the production company Constantin, he is played by the charismatic Sebastian Bezzel.

As a village policeman, he has a hard time dealing with the local population. In doing so, he always has to distinguish between police professionalism and the jovial local color of the neighbourhood. That doesn’t always work out, and Eberhofer doesn’t just want to solve the case, he also wants to find his place in this small world. In seven films, he made Falk’s novels known to a broad public. Time for an Eberhofer sequence.

The crime comedy by year of publication

You can also look at the Eberhofer sequence around the events in Niederkaltenkirch by release date. Although this is not the order in which Rita Falk’s novels were published, it does not detract from the actual background story.

  • “Steamed Noodle Blues” (2013)
  • “Winter Potato Dumplings” (2014)
  • “Pig’s head al dente” (2016)
  • “Semolina Dumpling Affair” (2017)
  • “Sauerkraut Coma” (2018)
  • “Leberkäsejunkie” (2019)
  • “Kaiserschmarrn drama” (2020/2021)

Also interesting: The order matters: You have these 4 options in “Star Wars”

The original Eberhofer order

As is well known, the original Eberhofer sequence can only come from the author Rita Falk, who lures us with her books to the deepest province of Niederkaltenkirch.

  • “Winter Potato Dumplings” (2010)
  • “Steamed Noodle Blues” (2011)
  • “Pig’s head al dente” (2011)
  • “Semolina Dumpling Affair” (2012)
  • “Sauerkraut Coma” (2013)
  • “Plum Datchi Plot” (2015)
  • “Leberkäsejunkie” (2016)
  • “White Sausage Connection” (2016)
  • “Kaiserschmarrn drama” (2018)
  • “Guglhupfgeschwader” (2019)
  • “Vehicle Ragout Rendezvous” (2021)

The Eberhofer order is not a must

Of course, you can also keep your own order in the crime comedies about the village policeman Eberhofer. The bizarre cases from Niederkaltenkirch are self-contained, independent stories and, as is well known, always end with a witty explanation. The Bavarian provincial society is often caricatured with all its quirks, abysses and amiableness.

Sources: franz-eberhofer.de, kino.de, Youtube | Constantine Film

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *