There are many reasons why you Factory reset iPad can. Either the memory is full or the device is no longer running as smoothly as it did at the beginning. If you decide to take this step, there are still a few things to consider. We’ll tell you which ones.
Factory reset iPad
With the iPad, Apple offers you the option of resetting the device to the factory settings without losing the collected data. If you want to keep the previous settings of your iPad despite the reset, you can create a backup for this, as Apple explains on its support page.
However, Apple also offers you the option of resetting individual functions of your iPad. The steps for this are identical on the common operating systems iPadOS13, iPadOS14 and iPadOS15.
How to reset your iPad
- If you want to factory reset your iPad, you need to go to the Settings menu.
- From the menu, select the “General” tab and then “Transfer/Reset iPad”
- Now the “Reset” options should appear.
danger: While you’re in factory reset, the option to “Erase All Content & Settings” will also appear. Should you choose this option, all of your content will be erased from the device.
4. If you have selected the “Reset” option, all you have to do is select one or more functions that you want to reset to the factory settings on your iPad.
- Reset all settings: If you select this option, the network and location settings, the keyboard dictionary and the layout of your home screen will be reset to the factory settings. In addition, all information stored with Apple Pay for the payment process is deleted.
- Reset network settings: If you click on this option, all your private network settings will be reset. This means that the personalized name of your device also disappears and the name “iPad” appears. If you have manually set certificates for the trustworthiness of some websites, these are also omitted and are changed back to “untrustworthy”.
By the way, this option could also disable mobile data roaming. Previously used networks and VPN settings are also lost. In addition, your previous WiFi settings will be reset. This means that you have to re-register in previously registered networks.
- Reset keyboard dictionary: If you reset the keyboard, all of the words and suggested corrections you have already entered will be lost.
- Reset Home screen layout: All apps will be arranged in the pattern they were when you first started your iPad. The original home screen appears.
- Reset location services and privacy settings: The location services and privacy settings are reset to factory defaults.
Now you know how to factory reset your iPad. If you want to know how to reset the same for your iPhone, we have an introduction for you for that as well. We also show you how to reset your laptop or Mac.
Source: Apple Support