Sinclair blocks local broadcast rights to 16 NBA teams

Deepak Gupta
Deepak Gupta January 14, 2022
Updated 2022/01/14 at 2:44 AM

has to broadcast games from 16 NBA teams to fans in local markets. The company, which aims to launch a standalone streaming service this year, previously secured local rights to some NHL and MLB teams, but the deal is an important piece of the puzzle.

The deal covers Atlanta Hawks, Charlotte Hornets, Cleveland Cavaliers, Dallas Mavericks, Detroit Pistons, Indiana Pacers, LA Clippers, Memphis Grizzlies, Miami Heat, Milwaukee Bucks, Minnesota Timberwolves, New Orleans Pelicans, Oklahoma City Thunder, Orlando Magic, Phoenix Suns and San Antonio Spurs.

The service, which is to debut in the first half of the year, it will likely be quite expensive north of $20 a month, according to . However, it should give fans a way to see their local teams if games aren’t broadcast nationally or if they can’t watch Sinclair’s Bally Sports Regional Sports Networks (RSNs). These networks are not available in or , for example. Local games are usually deleted in any case, including NBA League Pass.

Sinclair purchased a batch of RSNs from Fox Sports as part of the Fox acquisition. The RSNs were later renamed to Bally Sports.

All products recommended by Ploonge are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *