It is not news to anyone that the Whatsapp is the biggest messaging app in the world. Around the planet there are millions of people active daily, exchanging messages, stickers, videos and photos. However, with the growth of Telegram and Discord, many people have stopped using the Meta messenger as a means of communication for work.
Thinking of you who no longer find WhatsApp more useful in your daily life, we have put together a step-by-step guide that will teach you how delete your messenger account. Remembering that the tutorial that we will teach here was done through an Android smartphone, but it also works on iOS devices, with some interface changes.
Before starting, it is important to say a few things. When you delete your account, you will lose all message history and will also be removed from any groups you are currently participating in. Your messages and sent media will still appear for your contacts.
Despite being able to save conversations through the smartphone’s own memory and back up to Google Drive (Android) or iCloud (iOS), when confirming the deletion of the profile, the backups will also be deleted. If you don’t want to miss the conversations, you must export the history of each chat individually.
To do this, open a conversation or group, tap the three dots (top right corner), go to the option Most and select export conversation. Then choose one of the available options: No media or Include media files.
Then select where you want to send messages. The first option will export all messages in .txt format without any media files, where 40 thousand messages can be saved. As for the option that includes media files, the 10,000 most recent messages will be saved, in addition to the media files.
Without further ado, let’s go to the WhatsApp account deletion procedure.
How to delete your WhatsApp account
- To begin the deletion procedure, open WhatsApp and go to the three dots.
- Access the part of settings.
- On this new page, go to Account.
- Now, in the new tab, access the last option: delete my account.
- Then enter your contact number and tap delete my account.
- Finally, after deleting your profile, it is also recommended that you free up space on your phone by uninstalling WhatsApp.
Okay, your WhatsApp account has been deleted.
If you enjoyed today’s tutorial, see other tips by clicking here.
Are you thinking about buying a product online? Discover the Save the Connected World extension for Google Chrome. It is free and offers you price comparisons at major stores and coupons so you can always buy at the best price. Download now.